Tent Heater?

• HTML tutorial

midniteT4Rtrail

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer I

Castro Valley
Member #

I'm a newbie to campy as an adult and I'm looking to do some camping near Lone Pine late February or March sometime. Looks like it gets fairly cold in the evenings so I was interested in a heater. Most articles I've read recommend not using a heater in a tent. I'm interested in what everyone else is doing or using. I have a roof top CVT Mt. Shasta Summit Series tent.

Thanks!

Reactions: Overland USA

billum v2.0

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Flyover Country
Member #

I'm a 3 season camper (Fall/Winter/Spring) with the Tepui version of your Mt. Shasta Summit Series. I've tried the Mr. Buddy propane heater in the tent, but it produced too much moisture while running, causing condensation on the tent walls and damp/wet bedding. In colder temps, we had thick layer of frost build up on the tent walls and aluminum supports, which turns to water when the sun rises.
Now, it's Smartwool or polypro long johns, Smartwool Expedition socks, heavy wool blankets, a wool neck gaiter and watch cap. Fill a pair of Nalgene water bottles with boiling water a half hour before bed (goes between mattress and blankets, one at my feet and one near my kidneys). Pull on a pair of loose wool mittens when I climb into bed and I'm good for the night unless more than a few hours below 15-20°. A cheap chemical heat pack in each sock/mitten will get me down t0 single digits, although not comfortably.

mAd mOrdigan

Rank I

Enthusiast I

We got into the high 20's in Sequoia several weeks ago with a ton of blankets, crappy coleman sleeping bags, thermals under sweater and sweatpants and some wool socks, you would think this would have been horrible, but we had those chemical heat packs all over and felt toasty. I have some 20D sleeping bags on order, hopefully that will keep us comfortable with only a sweatshirt and sweatpants and wool socks so we can forego the chemical heat packs.