Enthusiast III

New Jersey
First Name
Jose
Last Name
Rodrigues
Member #

Hi all,

I have searched the forum for dog, pet, dog crate, and have not come up with anything that answers my question.

My plan is to get my son a Dog, hopefully a service dog, but either way I can’t seem to figure out the best way to overland with him. Making sure the dog travels safely is a big concern for me, however he will not be able to travel inside the cab with us (not enough room) in my future build.

I am leaning toward the large Gunner K9 kennel secured in the back of the truck bed as we are hoping to get German Shepherd. It is HUGE though:
  • EXTERIOR: 40.25" (L) x 28" (W) x 33.25" (H) / 34.5" (H) with carry handles.
In the Gladiator 5’ bed, it doesn’t take up a large portion of the bed up. The other issue it creates is room for other things like fridge, kitchen, etc. I am open to the idea of a cab height bed rack or a canopy. I plan on putting a RTT on top for us (2 adults 2 kids).

I am new to the overlanding side of things, so I figured I was ask everyone on their thoughts, ideas, etc.

Thanks ahead of time.

USStrongman

Rank V

Influencer II

Lubbock, TX, USA
First Name
Bryan
Last Name
Hildebrand
Member #

I'm just not a fan of truck bed kennels. Either they are working dogs and used to being outside or they are pets and not used to it. Factors include windchill factor, unexpected rain/snow/lightning, or high temps. I have a JKU just for this purpose. I have a Great Dane/Bull Mastiff named Maximus who weighs in at 172lbs. He is a beloved family pet and has about 75% of the entire back of the vehicle to himself when he and I travel. I have a roof rack for gear and next year (virus has changed our plans for this year) will have a trailer for my wife and all 3 dogs (70lbs and 18lbs plus Maximus). Good luck with whichever direction you go.IMG_3921.JPEG

Jrodrigues1278

Rank III

Enthusiast III

New Jersey
First Name
Jose
Last Name
Rodrigues
Member #