• HTML tutorial

m0to

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

San Diego
Member #

Hello gang,
I have a lot of experience towing dual axel trailers. I haven't run into this feeling with those.

Recently we got a MOAB Fort XL and its a great trailer. What we've noticed is if we hit a bump on the road we get a harsh slamming feeling. Meaning, truck goes over bump, when the trailer wheels hit the bump it feels like it shoves the truck like it's loading the hitch. About what it would feel like if someone stood on the hitch and used their weight to load the suspension.

I've weighed the tongue weight and its at about 600lbs. So, I don't think we are over weight.

Could it just be we are still a little tongue heavy?

jordan04gx

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Chittenango, NY
First Name
Jordan
Last Name
Moore
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KD2NFZ
Yes. That seems tongue heavy. At 10-15% of overall trailer weight, that 600 lb. tongue weight would mean the trailer would be in the 5-6k lbs. ballpark. Your trailer isn't nearly that heavy right?

Enthusiast I

Hawaii
Yes. That seems tongue heavy. At 10-15% of overall trailer weight, that 600 lb. tongue weight would mean the trailer would be in the 5-6k lbs. ballpark. Your trailer isn't nearly that heavy right?
Yes. Not to be captain obvious, but can you shift the load back inside the trailer?

m0to

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

San Diego
Member #

I'm running most of the weight over the axel. I have a feeling it's how they mounted the water jugs up towards the front of the tongue.

I should probably go weigh it again, because now that I think about it. 600lbs is a bit high as the trailer only weights 1200 dry. So, maybe I screwed up how I weighed it. I can easily push it around when it's all loaded up. I can't lift the tongue though (my dumbass tried, haha)

Road

Not into ranks, titles or points.
Launch Member

Advocate III

On the road in North America
First Name
Road
Last Name
Dude
Member #

Hello gang,