Launch Member

Enthusiast II

Canoga Park, CA 91303
First Name
James
Last Name
Morin
Member #

Now that the new adjustable leg skottle has come out, I've really been contemplating picking one up. I am still using a Coleman dual burner flip open propane stove. The skottle appears to be a step up, but boy are they pricey (I mean an investment). How many of you are still using the Coleman? If so, is there any reason other than price not to purchase? For those that have moved to the skottle, could you go back or is it the best thing since sliced bread?

I'd love to hear some member experiences!

Matthew Reed

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Georgia
First Name
Matthew
Last Name
Reed
Member #

I still use my trusty two burner. I’ve been cooking on them for 20 years and have no real interest in trying anything different.

That being said, my dad has a tripod that suspends a big cast iron skillet type deal and it’s come in handy when cooking for larger groups. The idea is kind of the same as the skottle. 90% of the time I camp by myself or with a single friend so usually the Coleman does just fine. If I did more trips with big groups I might start to consider the skottle or something similar.

Sparksalot

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer III

Bastrop County, TX, USA
First Name
Rex
Last Name
Drake
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5GH
Service Branch
Air Force
i agree on being useful for larger groups. I made my own from a plow disk. It’s neat and I like using it, but I can’t say it would be $300 neat.

Mountain Top

Rank I
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Puyallup, WA, USA
First Name
Jeremiah
Last Name
Kelly
I am interested in doing the same. The Coleman is tried and true but in bigger groups we have to have two going and the fire pit becomes a warmer.

I like the idea of being able to cook large amounts of food without multiple pots and pans. But at three bills it's hard to justify.

Reactions: Sparksalot

MrChris

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler III

Port Hueneme, CA, USA