Newbie wants to try OBDR Route #3 - Tips?

• HTML tutorial

Ryan Welch

Rank II

Advocate II

Eugene, Oregon
Member #

I'm a newbie to overloading and would love to try one portion of the OBDR Route #3 this summer with my son and a couple buddies. Thinking we'll start small and go from Hwy58 to Sisters. Does anyone have experience on this trail? Thoughts? Advice? Thanks!

Ryan Welch

Rank II

Advocate II

Eugene, Oregon
Member #

Just wanted to say thanks for posting... I hadn't previously heard of these routes, so I have a new thread to start researching!
For sure! I've researched some of the maps and can share what I've found more in here if you want. Hopefully someone with experience doing this particular route can offer some thoughts/tips. :)

Reactions: Charlie Toner

YelloJakt

Rank 0

Contributor I

Oregon
I'd like to hear any thoughts you have while we both wait for someone with experience! ...no rush, we have months before things thaw out... lol

Reactions: Ryan Welch

John Galt

Rank III

Advocate II

Bend, OR
I dont have experience with route 3 but I have ran route 4 and some of route 5. We did it in early may last year and some might say it was too early. Being the first ones of the year on the route we had 4 saws going constantly to clear the trail. We had to reroute a few times because the snow got too deep and eventually we were stopped completely up in Granite because of snow. This is year has significantly more snowpack so I wouldnt be surprised if it was into July until the routes are completely clear. When do you plan to do Route 3? I have been wanting to make that route.

PNWExplore

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate II

Bend Oregon
Member #

I was looking at doing route 3 this fall as well, maybe not all of it but from sisters to about cresent. Will be following this thread if you happen to go before I do

Quicksilver

Rank VI
Launch Member

Advocate III

Molalla, OR
Member #