Bay Area, California, USA
First Name
Gwendolyn
Last Name
vdL
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6YFJ
While we have some experience with overlanding, I am a complete newbie when it comes to overlanding comms. We have a Garmin InReach, and that's it. We use it for automatic tracking and sharing our location with the home front, a little bit of messaging, and (not yet, fortunately) emergencies. We expect to do most of our overlanding in the USA, west of the Mississippi (so far solo, but looking to do some weekend rally points, so group comms would be very handy), and hope to make the occasional longer solo trips to West Canada, Alaska, and Baja. We have a 4Runner dedicated to overlanding, so permanent installation of gear is very much possible.

There is a lot of great information on this forum, but I would appreciate some pointers to help narrow our focus.
  • Can we get by with picking one type of radio? It seems Ham is the most popular in our area, correct?
  • Would it make sense to start with a handheld (listen only), get the license, get more experience using it for group travel, and then go for a better mobile unit? We are a member of the buy-once-cry-once club (within reason), but getting something complex to start with may not be a great idea.
  • Is a single handheld of much use when you travel solo? It seems like for things such as calling for help (or helping others) in non-life threatening situations a mobile unit with some power and a good antenna would be much more useful, correct?
  • Does a fancy mobile unit with APRS etc make sense when you already use sat comm location tracking and messaging?
  • Any suggestions on what to buy to get started? Something solid and easy to use would be great.

Sparksalot

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer III

Bastrop County, TX, USA
First Name
Rex
Last Name
Drake
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5GH
Service Branch
Air Force
West coast, my recommendation would be ham. Really anywhere, but that’s another matter.