Convoy Comms and Mode Standardization for Overland travel?

• HTML tutorial

pikeintheboat

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Ellettsville, Indiana
Member #

This is a common subject for discussion as it fits well here. EMS, Fire, and many other services that rely on radio communication deal with this issue every day. I am new to overland travel and 4x4 vehicles, but I have many years of experience with radio.

I am happy to see that it is becoming more common for Overlander types to have their ham radio license. I have had my amateur radio license for 16 years and it is one of the best hobbies! It has allowed me to talk all around the world and learn new things every day. I've also benefited from the RF knowledge I have learned from study to be hired for at least 2 jobs, and one of those turning into a career. Cool!

Radio communication is has extreme value. As a radio operator, you not only can talk to your buddies on the trail, but, in times of need you can pass messages to people needing information. The latest current event is the 2017 Hurricane season. I read many articles about ham radio operators relaying messages to family members around the country about their loved ones.

http://www.cbc.ca/radio/day6/episode-358-outsmarting-the-nra-canada-s-magnitsky-act-ham-radios-for-puerto-rico-music-in-dna-and-more-1.4329733/when-smartphones-fail-how-students-in-a-ham-radio-club-are-helping-puerto-rico-1.4329877

Radio stations, even mobile, are "relay stations". So, this leads me my questions:
  1. What if someone in a convoy doesn't have their ham license but has another mode of comms, like GMRS or CB?
  2. How do you communicate with these individuals?
  3. Is someone playing "Cross-mode" relay station in the convoy?
We're lucky that we have options here, but it's a lot easier for a convoy to have one mode to communicate especially in an Emergency. How do you tackle this situation? List it here!

Matt

Reactions: k9sar

TerryD

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III