Corsicana, TX, USA
First Name
Rich
Last Name
Eubank
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5KFF
I am a veteran with a disability because of that I was able to get an access card. Access card allows me to get into national Parks and get half-price camping at national campgrounds. At least it's been that way up till now I showed up in the Lincoln national Forest needing to get a campground so I could get some stuff done that I can't do out in the field. I went to several of the forest service campgrounds and they denied my access card from my discount. I called the local Forest service district office and their response was because the national Park service we're the ones who issued the access cards not the national forest service access cards are not entitled to the discount here in the Lincoln national Forest. I want to know if anybody else that has an access card are being denied there discounts at u.s. facilities?

Last edited:

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired
you need to have three access cards... National Parks, Us Forrest Service, and the state parks pass for your state. They are all three separate entities... I do not know if BLM has an access card for camp grounds for disabled vets.

Boppa's Travels

Rank VI

Explorer I

Corsicana, TX, USA
First Name
Rich
Last Name
Eubank
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5KFF
Haven’t heard of the issue. On a separate note do you have information on how to apply? I too am a disabled veteran.
Take your disability rating letter to your NPS, USFS, and State ranger stations.
I have my access card and I've used it and I have always gotten my discount until I got to the Lincoln national Forest and they don't honor it.

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired