Launch Member

Member II

Orange, Ma
First Name
William
Last Name
Domey
Member #

Which would be better to get a Macbook or a I pad 12. Looking for something to be able to edit and print pictures from. I'm just a beginner at this and learning on my own via You Tube.

Advocate I

Denver, CO, USA
First Name
Wade
Last Name
Jackman
Member #

I definitely prefer working off a Macbook. More versatile, better performance and better storage options. I've done minor editing an iPad but its not my favorite. I use Lightroom to manage my photo library and do all my editing and while it works on all my devices, laptop is still my go-to. You might find that you prefer the iPad though, see if you can borrow them and try them both. You may also want to check out fstoppers.com and petapixel.com, they are some popular photography blogs.

DaPyrate

Rank VI

Trail Blazer I

Hamilton, Ohio
First Name
John
Last Name
Gill
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KE8PBK
Service Branch
U.S. Army Veteran
I have used both a MacBook Pro and a iPad with Apple Pencil. I have used lightroom, photoshop, and affinity for editing. I prefer using the MacBook Pro for heavy edits for more power and I like having more tools or the layout of the tools in the software. For quick easy edits that really only need a little touch up and for social media a iPad is fine.

As a beginner I would start with whatever you have. You can edit with Lightroom on your phone and learn the basics of it for free. Then you can upgrade to the subscription to unlock all the advanced features. You will also see the same features on your phone as you will see on a iPad so it will give you a idea if you want more from the OS X version.

Billiebob

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

earth
First Name
Bill
Last Name
William
Member #

ipad is easier to charge off 12V. macbooks need 120V.

I have both but never take the macbook on the road. I use the ipad mini exclusively camping.
When I get home, I transfer it all to my macbook.