Monterey, CA, USA
First Name
Chad
Last Name
Peabody
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6ITG
I have a Yaesu FTM-400XDR in my Tundra and I use a hood mounted 1/2 wave no ground plane antenna. My girlfriend has been expressing interest in getting into HAM so she bought a UV-5R so she can start listening and getting familiar with the radio. I put the same antenna I have in my Tundra on her Jeep and hooked it up to the UV-5R and I was surprised that the radio performance was significantly worse than with the factory rubber ducky. I'm new to HAM so will someone tell me what I'm missing? I'm hoping some of your wisdom and experience will rub off on me. Is the radio not powerful enough for the antenna? Is the radio not able to filter what the antenna is capable of picking up? Is there something more obvious that I'm overlooking? Grounding issue?? All the connections seem perfect. Thanks!!

Last edited:
Reactions: Turnerxc and Ubiety

Ubiety

Rank VI

Explorer I

Sammamish, WA, USA
First Name
Greg
Last Name
Ubiety
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
Ribs
What happens if you connect the Baofeng to your Tundra's antenna? If it works well there then wiring/antenna would be suspect. Of course this will take your Yeasu out of commission but could be helpful if you can find another radio to test with. If you can remove the antenna from the mount you might try a continuity tests on both legs of the cable. What happens to the yeasu's performance with the suspect antenna/cable attached (if you can)?
The external antenna should make things significantly better over a stock baofeng antenna.

Reactions: Graeman

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired