Livermore, California
First Name
Eddy
Last Name
Louis
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KO6BOH
I'm looking for fuel storage for my rig. I've ruled out the traditional Jerry cans and have narrowed my search to the Rotopax systems. What is the main differences between the Rotopax and the Fuelpax besides the price? What is the caveat? Durability? Production quality? Convenience features? Of course it would be nice to save some $$$, but not at the expense of safety.

Cheers,
Eddy

v_man

Rank IV

Advocate I

Redwood City
The only issues I've had with rotopax is that they dont have a vent for altitude changes. They expand and contract in size with both heat and altitude.

Occasionally this has led to leaking of gas from the cap. My solution is to screw the cap on ridiculously tight. So tight that I carry a tool to remove the cap.

Aside from that I've been using two three gallon rotos for almost five years and have been happy with them. Be sure to get an aftermarket spout and ditch the CARB spout that comes with them...

SVgarage

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

Livermore, California
First Name
Eddy
Last Name
Louis
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KO6BOH
Thanks for the great insights. I too was thinking about getting two 3-gallon vessels, but am still a little bit unclear as to what "stackable" means. I have seen pictures of users stacking them side-by-side like books and stacking one on top of the other, snapping together like Lego pieces. I am assuming that they don't work in either situation, but why are they not stackable side-by-side? Do they spin? If they are resting on a platform, how will that make a difference?

v_man

Rank IV

Advocate I

Redwood City
I carry mine up on my home made roof rack, side by side. You can't see it but there is a threaded rod that goes through the center of the rotos, and I have a big flat washer that cinches down the center of the rotos to the roof rack. And I also have a ratchet strap holding them on for redundancy

SVgarage

Rank V