Kent
Last Name
Reynolds
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K6KNT
Service Branch
Retired Firefighter
Thanks for sharing the video. This is very interesting and surprising. I had always considered putting a modern element extinguisher like this in my car in addition to the 2kg/ 4 pound fire extinguisher. But after the result it will be more likely a second small conventional extinguisher.

@Kent R I am not an expert in this field, but could it be that in this test the gas from the element extinguisher did not get close enough to the base of the fire? Could that be the reason for this result? If that is the problem, I wonder how it could get closer to the base of the fire, since in this test he was already quite close to the flames and that with protective clothing.
Dont think he could get much closer ;-)

LostInThought

Rank VI

Influencer I

Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
First Name
Jeff
Last Name
Kprotected
Member #

Dont think he could get much closer ;-)
Great video! The comments on it have also been interesting. It's certainly worth comparing this video to the videos showing the Element in a more positive light. One of the commenters suggested "chimney effect" prevented the Element's stream from reaching the base of the fire, while the faster streams from the traditional extinguishers were able to cut thru to the base. Clearly more to learn here, and I'm anxious to see if Element responds in the comments. In the mean time I think I'll add a 5lb to my vehicle!

ZombieCat

Rank V
Investor

Advocate I

Maryland
First Name
Adventure
Last Name
Awaits!
Member #

Thanks for sharing the video. This is very interesting and surprising. I had always considered putting a modern element extinguisher like this in my car in addition to the 2 kg/ 4.4 pound fire extinguisher. But after the result it will be more likely a second small conventional extinguisher.