Rank V

Advocate III

Phoenix, AZ, USA
First Name
Brad
Last Name
Flecke
Member #

I live in The EasyBake Oven, otherwise known as Phoenix. For rooftop storage on my vehicle I would LIKE to have a permanently attached, lockable, long container (e.g., a Pelican BX140R) where I can store tools, tarps, some kinds of camping gear, etc. (gear that is not especially heat sensitive) 24/7/365, not just when I'm overlanding. This vehicle has outdoor covered parking, not a climate-controlled garage.

I'm new to the desert SouthWest.

Is permanently storing gear on a vehicle year round a bad idea in the desert SW? Better alternatives?

Your insight is appreciated!

Reactions: KD7WCD and j2dxplr

krzyaz

Rank IV

Influencer II

Maricopa, AZ, USA
First Name
Peder
Last Name
Thygesen
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K7WWV
Welcome to Arizona!

I've been out here for 17 years. I love it but the heat and sun wreak havoc on plastic and wood. They will last a couple years before becoming warped or brittle and will probably look bad by October. If you have to store them 24/7 outside, you might consider an aluminum box instead of plastic. Keep in mind that the plastics in recovery straps are also susceptible over time.

Reactions: Salt

j2dxplr

Rank III

Enthusiast I

Tempe, Arizona, United States
First Name
Jacq and Jeremy
Last Name
Davis
Member #

I live in The EasyBake Oven, otherwise known as Phoenix. For rooftop storage on my vehicle I would LIKE to have a permanently attached, lockable, long container (e.g., a Pelican BX140R) where I can store tools, tarps, some kinds of camping gear, etc. (gear that is not especially heat sensitive) 24/7/365, not just when I'm overlanding. This vehicle has outdoor covered parking, not a climate-controlled garage.

I'm new to the desert SouthWest.

Is permanently storing gear on a vehicle year round a bad idea in the desert SW? Better alternatives?

Your insight is appreciated!