Minimum Ground Clearance?

• HTML tutorial

HighSierraOverland

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate II

Fresno, CA
Member #

For those of you who have seen my posts, I own a CR-V which obviously keeps me very limited on backroads. As a photographer I travel a lot, especially with work I do for the NPS, so I've been looking into buying a Toyota 4Runner for the space, but also offroad capabilities.

I have thought about the TRD Pro 4Runner as I don't plan on doing anything crazy, but want to be able to hit some tougher trails. However after watching a lot of overlanding videos, and seeing everyone's photos, I wonder if it will indeed give me enough ground clearance.

I'm hoping to do most of the trails that are within the Sierra Nevada mountain range, along with areas such as the Grand Canyon, etc. Some of those would include things like Strawberry Lake in the Sierra National Forest, as well as things such as Bald Mountain in the Shaver Lake area.

Would a TRD Pro be able to handle that? The TRD Off Road version?

I guess what I want, being I don't have my own shop or anything like that, is to be able to get the best bang for my buck. I'd hope I don't need to do a major lift, but for instance if the TRD Pro isn't high enough on clearance, then I'd like to save the price difference between that and the Off Road version, and put that money towards a lift on an Off Road.

I believe the TRD Pro has 9.6" of ground clearance, is that plenty for your typical offroading and "light" Jeep Trails? Do you need something higher?

Basically everything the Overland Bound Land Cruiser does is what I'm looking to do, if that helps narrow down the confusion I've probably just caused.

Reactions: PB&Me

Preston Tiegs

Rank IV
Launch Member

Advocate III

Provo Utah
Member #