Which lift kit, wheels, and tires are best for my 2002 Tacoma?

• HTML tutorial

MontySquared

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Rochester, MI, USA
First Name
Vincent
Last Name
Montoro
Member #

Hello everyone, I am currently in the processes of building my 2002 Tacoma into the rig I have always dreamed of and one that will serve us well as my wife and I travel the U.S.

Which suspension lift kits do you recommend and which wheels and tires do you recommend (those who own a 1st Gen. Tacoma and those who are knowledgeable in this area)? Thank you for the help.

Also, I have researched many things, but I am new to building an overland rig, so there are many, many things I do not know. I know people love the OME suspension kits, but that my be out of my price range, do you recommend Rough Country as a good quality lift kit? Any information will help, I will be posting often as I execute this build. Thanks again.

Lindenwood

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

New Mexico
First Name
Jay
Last Name
M
Member #

Goodness! This is a huge can of worms, so I'd honestly say just keep googling and searching!

That said, if you are on a budget, American Racing wheels are pretty inexpensive while still being relatively light weight. I got 5 16x8s for $455 shipped off Amazon, and they only weigh 21lbs each.

There are also as many tire choices as there are members on this forum, so I'd again just use your google-fu. However, if you want an inexpensive MT, I am super happy with my Milestar Patagonia tires, also ordered through Amazon. They are indeed imported, but are wearing very well, balanced with less than 5oz per tire, and are actually quieter than the ATs on my wife's 4Runner.

MontySquared

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Rochester, MI, USA
First Name
Vincent
Last Name
Montoro
Member #

Goodness! This is a huge can of worms, so I'd honestly say just keep googling and searching!