Tommy
Last Name
Watson
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
GMRS - WROE242
Service Branch
USMC
I’m debating between the DJI Mini 3 pro and the Mavic 3. I’m new to photography/drones, so I’m not really sure which way I should go here. Any suggestions?

VAGentleman

Rank I

Contributor II

Frisco, Denton County, Texas, United States
First Name
Lance
Last Name
Koth
DJI website gives a good comparison of features. My advice to drone purchasers is “don’t spend more than you are willing to lose.” You can get great quality from inexpensive equipment. Look for how you want to shoot and how far will it fly and not lose video signal. That has been my decision maker. I don’t think you can go wrong with DJI.

Reactions: GunRunnersActual

dboy

Rank III

Traveler III

Oregon
First Name
Daniel
Last Name
Jaquith
Ham/GMRS Callsign
KF7LDA
DJI Mini 3 Pro looks incredible. I'm using the Mavic mini at the moment but will upgrade to that one someday.

OTH Overland

Local Expert Washington, USA
Investor

Trail Blazer III

Camano Island, WA, USA
First Name
Dave
Last Name
Ballard
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
N7XQP
Service Branch
Fire/EMS/SAR
We are currently using the Mavic Air 2, found it to be more stable in higher winds than the mini and longer / more stable transmission range. only 2 issues with it so far. 1. batteries seem to lose one level / bar of life when left in box for a while, Just have to remeber to top off before a trip. 2. due to pilot error trying to fly through a tight space in low light, managed to hit a wall and break the gimble off. do not carry DJI refresh service so had to pay out of pocket for repair, also discovered lack of DJI service centers with a long lead time to repair. Found a local shop that did the repair installing a new camera and gimble while I waited for $400 which is less than replacing the drone body.

Tupenny

Rank V
Investor

Pathfinder I

Longwood, Florida
First Name
Boulder
Last Name
Dash
Member #