Where I should start on building up my rig

• HTML tutorial

Enthusiast I

Denver, CO, USA
First Name
Aiden
Last Name
Shanks
Hello everybody! I am new to overlanding specifically. I have been camping, fishing, hunting, and exploring the Colorado rockies for most of my life and now want to expand my travels using an overlanding rig. The vehicle I have to build upon is a stock 2001 Ford Excursion with 4WD and is equipped with the 7.3 Diesel engine. I am looking for both advice and help in finding the upgrades for my truck. I have been watching videos of overlanding builds on YouTube for hours and hours now but am now genuinely lost on where I should start. Any information you can give me will help tremendously! Thank you all in advance.

Billiebob

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

earth
First Name
Bill
Last Name
William
Member #

DRIVE IT

It might be perfect as a stock vehicle. Drive it first, do the things you love... Only after you find a need should you start changing things. Ford did a great job building a big full sized SUV. Fords research and development budget is exponentially bigger than any of the aftermarket suppliers who often copy something and spend $$$ on marketing, advertising and supporting forums, including youtubers, pushing their products.

Drive it, go camping, fishing, hunting, exploring and when you find a specific need, ask the question........ "Hey guys how do I do this?"

Unless you are like me, and need a project to tinker with.

If it was me, having had front and rear selectable lockers, that would be my first mod, maybe with a regear if I thought I was going to do a lift and bigger rubber. But otherwise, I'd focus on all the basics like refrigeration, sleeping, food storage, route finding, .....

Last edited:

Charles M

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Wickenburg, AZ, USA
First Name
Charles
Last Name
M
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K1CJM
Welcome.