What vehicle is a good starter

• HTML tutorial

Trout

Rank 0

Traveler I

Arizona
I want to get into overlanding, but don't know what would be a good starter vehicle. Preferably something relatively cheap. I don't want to spend 50k plus if I'm just starting out. What would be something decent to start out with? A truck? SUV? Van?

RescueRangers

Rank V
Launch Member

Pathfinder I

Fleming Island, Fl
Member #

What ever vehicle you have right now is the best vehicle. That's not poking fun at you, that is one of the best questions you can ask when just starting out. The reason the one you have is the best is because its the cheapest. There are tons of ways to Overland. Some travel the globe on extended expeditions and require storage for food, water, and gear. Some want to get to the most remote places or travel some historic trail and require a high center of gravity 4x4 with tons of gear, food, water, fuel, etc. Needless to say, the best way to start out is to find out what you like, don't like, and what the wife is willing to put up with. Nothing in the Overland rule book says you have to travel only on dirt or gravel. If your wife isn't up for crapping in the woods, no one is going to burn you at the stake for getting a hotel room. Do some traveling, explore some, experience is the only way to find your direction. After a few trips you will get a good idea what will fit you best.

Disclamer: Overlanding can be as inexpensive as you want but if you aim to impress others, it will get expensive very quickly (i.e. 50k plus).

Trout

Rank 0

Traveler I

Arizona
Luckily, I'm not married lol. But I would prefer staying off the hard road. I'll be moving to Alaska or Colorado if all goes my way. So I'll want to go more remote. I only need it for at most 2 weeks at a time.

Trout

Rank 0

Traveler I

Arizona
I'm not 100% sure on where I'm planing on where I'm taking it yet. Probably anywhere I can take it. My budget is around 10k, with some room to move.

4xFar Adventures