What should I do first?

• HTML tutorial

Enthusiast I

Auburn
Hello Everybody,

I'm new to overlanding and I not sure what to do first. I just bought a 2015 Tacoma Trd Offroad last week and can't wait to get out in the mountains with it! It has a 3" revtek lift with 265/70R16 Hurcules Terra Trac tires. I've read some bad things about these tires, so I will change those out when they wear out a bit.

I'm on a tight budget, so I'm wondering way to do first. Should I get sliders, recovery gear like a shackle hitch with a strap, bumpers and a hi lift, compressor, etc. I already have a first aid kit, trauma kit and Delorme Inreach GPS. I plan on making a drawer system at some point in the next couple months for storage. I plan on using it as my hunting rig to get way back in the woods and also a family "overlanding" camping rig. What should do first?

Thanks,
Derek

Attachments

Reactions: HEYElliott

James Deaton

Rank V

Pathfinder I

How many miles are on it?

Change the oil.
Change the air filter.
Consider changing the spark plugs (mileage dependant).

I personally would get a recovery strap (no need for a shackle hitch, waste of money. Just use the hitch pin, that’s what the shackle hitch will use to stay in place...), and an air compressor so you can air down and back up.

Those two aftermarket items should cost you about $100-$110 if you play your coupons right at 4wheelparts.

The third thing i would get is some mapping software on a large screen tablet/ipad.

James

PapaDave

Local Expert Northern ID and North East WA

Protector II

Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
First Name
Dave
Last Name
Addington
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6BKH