Launch Member

Member III

Harlem, GA
First Name
Chris
Last Name
Lyons
Member #

I was watching a Ronny Dahl video yesterday and there was one gas engine vehicle in the mix. Before going through a particularly deep water crossing, they sprayed WD40 on the electrical connections (spark plug wires, coil, etc...).

Does this really do anything to prevent water incursion? Or is it merely a feel good measure?

Reactions: Azb

James Deaton

Rank V

Pathfinder I

WD stands for water displacement. It was originally designed for the military to prevent corrosion on bombs and missiles, so it makes sense that it would leave a protective coating on electrical connections. That is certainly not a common practice though.

In my opinion dielectric grease inside the connector to a) promote electrical conductivity and b) fill the air void with grease to prevent corrosion is a much better practice...

I’m just a Navy trained electronics tech though... what do I know :):):)

James

Overland A Far

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Rocky Mountain House, Alberta
Member #

WD40 has a lot of uses and one that might surprise people is a use in the campground industry. A partner and I manage campgrounds and we use WD40 to spray on the inside of the outhouse toilets. It displaces more than water and helps keep the fiberglass toilets cleaner and easier to clean, doesn't smell and is inexpensive (we buy the 4 liter liquid cans and use a spray bottle). So if anyone is looking after back country outhouses on their trips - try it!

smritte

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Ontario California
First Name
Scott
Last Name
SMR
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KO6BI