San Antonio, TX, USA
First Name
Mike
Last Name
Heiman
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5LHN
Take time to think. What do I mean by that? If you are reading this, you, like I, are drawn to the wilderness, more than the average person. We like to venture far, and see sights few will ever see. We often traverse uneven, rocky, loose, sometimes unmaintained roads and trails. Each mile, be it muddy or dusty, draws us further away from civilization and closer to nature. With these travels come risks, and it only takes a split second for a memorable outing to turn into a life changing experience. If we "take time to think", before and during our trips, we can increase our chances of returning safely. What prompted me to write this are two articles I read this weekend, which I will share below. One of a man being chased by a mountain lion, the other about a Jeep that slid off a popular mountain trail. There are numerous stories like these. I am by no means an expert. These are just my "two cents". I don't plan to go in depth on topics, and I'm sure I will miss some things, but I hope this helps someone.

"TAKE TIME TO THINK" BEFORE YOUR TRIP

There are several things to think about before your trip.
  • Where are you going?
  • Wat do you plan to do when you get there?
  • What will the weather be like?
  • What gear will I need?
  • Is my rig ready?
Figuring out the destination is usually the easy part, but doing a little research into your destination can be very helpful. Knowing a little about the terrain and wildlife you may encounter may help you in determining what equipment you will need to bring. Make downloadable maps of the area you can view offline, and get your hands on old school paper maps if you can. Talking with locals is also a great source of information. You never know what gems you may find.