• HTML tutorial

Fozzy325

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer II

Calgary, AB, Canada
Member #

I would like to suggest that we have a sticky
1. OB HF Call sign and location register.
I was thinking about this as I was a HF operator and technician and would like to get my license back and start chatting around the world with HF kits.

Since joining this community it has revitalised my love of RF communications. especially vehicle mounted HF systems. It would be cool for nostalgic reasons to be able to role up to a meet and speak to someone around the world with the rest of us geeks. It would also give the opportunity to make some more meetups for the RF kiddies.

Plasmajab

Rank IV

Off-Road Ranger I

Quinte West, Ontario, Canada
First Name
Ian
Last Name
Howard
Ham/GMRS Callsign
VA3IRA
We'd need two call signs.. one US and one Canadian. That wouldn't be hard to do on my end for the Canadian side.

But my question is what bands would be the most practical? Hf antennas can be pretty big and somewhat delicate. That's why hf at basecamp.

Fozzy325

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer II

Calgary, AB, Canada
Member #

We'd need two call signs.. one US and one Canadian. That wouldn't be hard to do on my end for the Canadian side.

But my question is what bands would be the most practical? Hf antennas can be pretty big and somewhat delicate. That's why hf at basecamp.
with the HF in a vehicle you just need to use the best fraction size antenna you use a length of copper antenna and remove or add extra pieces dependant on the wave length and use the vehicle as the counterpoise

the other method is an electronic antenna that has a base that changes the length of the antenna base on the frequency you need. This again can be used in conjunction with the amount of antenna lengths in use. 3rd option is a a mount that you insert the antenna in and very the length of the antenna in the bracket and where it clasps is the length of the antenna.

Kent R

Executive Director
Staff member