Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Market Warsop, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
First Name
Paul
Last Name
Wilkinson
Member #

With the trailer tent build underway I have turned my mind to the kitchen setup. More specifically the stove.

In the past I have camped with a few variants of gas stoves. Single burner (canister type) or dual/triple burner of various designs with a gas bottle.

Now I find myself a position where I have numerous options but no idea which is the better. Perhaps you could advise?

In my cooking arsenal I have.....

Option 1: Generic single burner gas canister stove
Outdoor-Revolution-Single-Gas-Stove-top.jpg

Option 2: Dometic/Origo 3000 double burner alcohol stove
0159220_r1_FS08ig.jpg

Option 3: Coleman Unleaded double burner petrol stove
3000000396-coleman-unleaded-two-burner-stove-1.jpg

As explained - over the years I have used gas mainly. But in the past 2 years I inherited the Origo and Coleman units - new and unused. I have no experience with either.

So any opinions/advice or recommendations are welcome.

Contributor II

Santa Cruz, CA, USA
First Name
Jess
Last Name
Curry
I just got a Hitchfire f20, and I am really liking it so far. I took it for a test drive in my drive way over the weekend, and loved that I had built in counter space. I know you said you were looking for specifically stove, but I find prep and storage spaces to be immensely valuable as well.

IMG-4440.jpg

MMc

Rank V

Influencer II

San Dimas, Ca.
First Name
Mike
Last Name
McMullen
Member #

I have had all kinds of stoves in my camping life. Given you already have the Coleman 2 burner I would get a propane adapter and 5 or 10 pound canister. it will run for weeks, easy to refill any where in the world.

• Love
Reactions: thesyncroviking

thesyncroviking

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

First Name
Paul
Last Name
Wilkinson
Member #

Given you already have the Coleman 2 burner I would get a propane adapter and 5 or 10 pound canister.