Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

First Name
Stv
Last Name
DMg
Member #

I have a snomaster 56d, pretty much the only thing I am running off constantly, group 31 ody battery, looking to keep topped off when we camp for 3 days at a time, looking for a full kit,, I think I need panels, inverter and jumper style hoohups, probably will rehouse my stock battery as back up and charge that too, thanks y'all!

steve

Todd & Meg

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer I

I've been looking into this for a possible Snowmaster in the future. What I learned so far. Snowmaster claims 12 hours of run time in 24 hours. It will draw 2.5 to 5 amps. lets say 2.5 X 12 = 30 Amp hours per 24 hours.

A 100 watt panal will produce 30 amps over 8 hours in perfect conditions. Those conditions happen in the southwest part of the US, and assume no loss in wire and 100% efficiency in the controller. Which is probably not going to happen.

I haven't bought yet but I like the Renogy that is on Amazon. You'll probably need 150-200 watts in panels, I would also look at a MPPT controller over a PWM one. MPPT are in the 90% efficiency compared to 75%. You can call Renogy and they will help you size a system for your needs.

Also you just said group 31 battery. That can be 85 AH up to 125 AH, regular lead-acid, AGM, GEL? How deep are you going to discharge? Lead-acid should only be 50%, high end AGM can be 80%. The VMax battery I have has minimum watt solar panel size to recharge with. If your panel is to small you might not be able to fully charge the battery, and batteries like AGM do not like not being charged to full.