Solar Panel Size

• HTML tutorial

Toupswrangler

Rank 0

Contributor I

I'm just getting started with my overland camping journey. I'm about 80% done with my first DIY trailer but have no idea on what size solar panel I need to keep up but I feel certain you guys/gals have the answer. I'll only be using one deep cycle battery to power a water pump, a few LED lights, and possibly to recharge phones/pads. Any idea what I'd need to keep the battery topped off?? I know it depends on how much demand I'll put on the battery but I'm thinking it'll be minimal. I'll only use water during meal prep and cleaning up after and I'm only installing 2-3 small LED's for area lighting.

I have no idea whatsoever on watt rating vs recharge time??????

LOVE this site and thanks in advance for any help on this!!!

Buckaroo

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

Bramley, Rotherham, South Yorkshire Forest, UK
First Name
Dave
Last Name
M
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
CB Handle: Buckaroo, UK FM Ch.30
its a big subject too.
now where you gonna mount it?
do you need a rigid panel in a frame?
A semi flexible panel? or even a panel to fold up and store away.
a 100Watt panel will charge your battery at approx. 5 amps/h on a good sunny day, half that on a cloudy day.
That will be good enough on your described usage.
You can also charge that battery through your vehicle/trailer connection. Battery charges as the car engine is running, gives your trailer battery a bit more help.

Last edited:

Cpol

Rank IX
Launch Member

World Traveler III

Jackson Heights, Queens, NY, USA
First Name
Chris
Last Name
Pol
Member #

Currently using 150 watt, but I have more wattage consumption than you.. it’s better to have more than less. I am currently charging three odyssey agm and another emergency backup just Incase. D5064E6C-916A-4C24-A816-4992F82339C9.jpeg3B0D3701-222E-4BC5-AD6B-15FBF2767756.jpeg03EF4CA4-0454-4AF9-9F2D-EAC62E99E88C.jpeg

Last edited:

Buckaroo

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I