Solar grounding through chassis

• HTML tutorial

llamafilm

Rank 0

Traveler I

Hello everyone. I'm planning to install a 100W solar panel on my rig, mostly to power a fridge. The charge controller will go inside the cabin and the battery is under the hood. I will pass 2 wires through the roof to the controller. Then just one positive wire through the firewall to the battery. The charge controller negative output will connect to the car chassis. This is how I wired other accessories including light bars and ham radio, but I've never done solar before so I'm wondering if there is any danger with this plan. Is there any reason to run a separate negative wire from the controller to the battery?

I have a fuse/relay box under the hood. From there I will run one positive wire back through the firewall for the fridge.

This is a Subaru XV hybrid which comes with dual batteries from the factory (engine start and aux). I'm replacing both with AGM type, and the solar will connect to the aux battery. I think I will use 10ga wire for these connections.
Any input is appreciated.

Shakes355

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler III

Bellingham, WA, USA
First Name
Chris
Last Name
Adams
Member #

There are charge controllers designed for both positive and negative ground. Be sure to confirm that you have a negative ground unit, and you should be fine.

To my knowledge, there is no real advantage to running a dedicated line to the B- unless finding a good chassis connection is an issue.

Since you drive a hybrid, it is very important your connections are secure and made of adequate gauge wire. It is important in all cases but if your system isn't sound, any transient voltage could risk some of your vehicle systems.