Launch Member

Traveler I

Cañon City, CO, USA
First Name
Mike
Last Name
Short
Member #

I cant decide.....? Just need some opinions on what you think?

Quick Background:
I am new to OB but have been a LURKER for a while. I have built one “utility/hunt/camp trailer and one flat bed trailer. Just retired from the fire service after 34 years. It’s time to get more involved with OB and the other members.

I have a good cache of steel, wheels, & RV parts in the shop but I can’t decide which kind trailer to build? I am leaning towards building a sleep in/ teardrop trailer similar to AT Trailers in AZ. There are several other designs out there to choose but I think the sleep in is the way to go.

What is your preference and why? Pros and Cons?

Kent R

Executive Director
Staff member
Mod Team

Pathfinder III

El Dorado, Ca
First Name
Kent
Last Name
Reynolds
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K6KNT
Service Branch
Retired Firefighter
I cant decide.....? Just need some opinions on what you think?

Quick Background:
I am new to OB but have been a LURKER for a while. I have built one “utility/hunt/camp trailer and one flat bed trailer. Just retired from the fire service after 34 years. It’s time to get more involved with OB and the other members.

I have a good cache of steel, wheels, & RV parts in the shop but I can’t decide which kind trailer to build? I am leaning towards building a sleep in/ teardrop trailer similar to AT Trailers in AZ. There are several other designs out there to choose but I think the sleep in is the way to go.

There are several build threads on the form you should use the search function and I bet you will find lots of different views on this subject.
Personally we went with a sleep on top of trailer being built by Anchor Mountain Overland in Fruita CO. The main reason for us was storage and I really feel it is a much stronger trailer. After seeing a new Hiker in Death Valley in November have issues we were happy we did the later.