Galt CA
First Name
Don
Last Name
A
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI6TUI
Hey guys. Thought I would share my build up with you guys. (Long story)

Little history of myself. I’ve been an avid off-roader more of the rock crawling type. I have built a few rigs to concur the infamous Rubicon trail, Barrett Lake trail and a few other rock crawl trails. I’ve been a FCA dealership tech for nearly 20 years and love Jeeps but I’ve owned plenty make and model vehicles. Toyota was my favorite to build for the trails along with a samurai and Jeeps

Now I have been bitten by the “overland” bug. Budget minded is my goal, so sticking finding a vehicle that I have many avenues to benefit from between knowledge and contacts I chose to find a affordable Jeep Wrangler (affordable as in what I could afford by doing side jobs and saving money the wife won’t get PO’ed about lol)

After weeks of looking I found this 2002 TJ, seller was in a tight spot, needed tires desperately. The 33’s were shot. The soft top had seen better days, and a few other odds and ends. It had 194k in the clock (nothing for a well kept 4.0ltr) 5 sp trans and already had the slip yoke eliminator done. Has a 4” pro-crap lift. Biggest downfall is no A/C. And anyone who knows how the summers get in Sacramento valley, having no air conditioner SUCKS! And it also has a Garvin rack and a wore out smittybilt 8k winch

I wound up driving it home for $4500 and for a semi clean TJ, that’s a heck of a deal. Score!