Overland Baja?

• HTML tutorial

TacoBox

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate III

South San Francisco
Member #

I am a newbie to overlanding and overall 4x4ing, but in the last 6 months I have dove head first into the hobby and now have caught the life long bug. I have always had a yearn to make the trip to the elusive Baja peninsula home to Desert Racing, sandy beaches, and of course endless tacos! On my first OB trip out on Mojave Road we were all sitting around the campfire talking shop and future trips. I had already been planning on attending the 50th Score Baja 1000 and figured that a group from OB would be going and would just tag along. I was mistaken, one member jumped at the gun "Can I come? That sounds awesome and has been on my bucket list." That's when I asked the question "Do people overland Baja?" And to my surprise I didn't get the answer I was expecting which were these: Scary, Foreign, Unknown, and Border. The more research I did I found that in recent years Americans have stayed away from Baja on the questions of violence and just overall unknowns. On YouTube more and more #vanlife and #fulltime overlanders are going to Baja and saying "Hey everyone it's safe, fun, cheap, and amazing!" So after doing some research (Which still left many unanswered questions) the trip dates were set and we ventured.