Negotiating Mud

• HTML tutorial

derMechaniker

Rank II
Launch Member

Traveler III

Atascadero, CA
Member #

As a Californian after several years of drought, I've had little experience with my rig in mud. However, that has changed due to this year's rain.

I live in Atascadero, which, when translated from Spanish to English, roughly means "bog" or a place to get stuck in. "Atascar" being the verb to be stuck or hindered.

Yes, it has rained in prior years since I've lived here and I have experienced thick "Frankenstein feet" from moving through my property in rubber boots. However, after this year's rains I discovered the true meaning of my city's namesake.

I've got a ride-on mower for keeping the weeds in check on my acre of natural land. I hadn't quite realized just how wet one section of my property was. It had been a couple of weeks since we'd had some rain. The mower got stuck fast in the lowest part of my property, where standing water had been.

Mrs. Love suggested I pull the mower out with the van. Naturally, I have watched many a YouTube video of Syncro Vanagons motoing in the mud and, of course, this gave me some confidence that simply pulling a mower out would be no problem. After all, I've got 29" tires, 6.17 gears, front and rear lockers. What could go wrong?

I opened the side gate and drove the van directly towards the mower. As I crossed into the mud and stopped short of the mower I realized that I, perhaps, made an error of judgement. When I climbed out, the van was sitting deep in mud, was now at a standstill and all four tires were at around 44 psi for highway use.

I hitched the mower to my front shackle and climbed back into the van. I selected reverse and let in the clutch. My wheels spun and I didn't move. I pulled my rear and front locker knobs and tried again. All four wheel spun and I could feel myself sinking.