Loud vehicles?

• HTML tutorial

Fox

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Surry, VA, USA
Member #

I'm fairly new to the forms looks like a great place and also new to overlanding.
But what I'm wondering is what are people's opinion on vehicles that are overly loud?
My rig I know is very loud, old truck 460 cubic inch big block that's roughly 7.5 for those medically minded running through a performance exhaust system that the previous owner put on

Reactions: MazeVX and Raul B

Anak

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Sandy Eggo
My '73 Suburban is also loud. 454 with ported heads and a Crower cam feeding through a very low restiction dual exhaust. Pretty good at setting off car alarms.

Biggest downside would be if it impacts communication.

Biggest potential upside is that folks are more likely to hear you coming up the trail and thus less likely to come barreling right into you head-on. As the Harley crowd says, loud pipes save lives.

Reactions: MazeVX

Enthusiast II

Hartford, SD
To me it all depends on if it sounds good. Loud just to be loud or crappy popping crackling exhaust I can do without. Now the nice low rumble of actual power I have no problem with. My f250 has 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust and a high flow straight through muffler but it isn't very loud. The engine is pretty much stock. Just a few tuning tweeks. Now my currant bronco is rumbly and loud. High flow exhaust with long tube headers and a strong engine make some fun noise. But you can't hear the wife or kids while going down the highway.

Fox

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Surry, VA, USA
Member #