Hughson, CA, USA
First Name
Matt
Last Name
Holway
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6DZP
OnX just released OnX Offroad not too long ago. Wondering if anyone has had a chance to check it out yet. I have been using the OnX Hunt app for a few years. It is hands down the best hunting navigation app. If OnX Offroad is even half as good, I wont be disappointed in paying the yearly subscription. If/when I get a chance to dive more in to the app, I'll try and remember to give some feed back.

Lil Bear

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Georgia, USA
First Name
Working
Last Name
Toomuch
Member #

I downloaded it but it didn't seem to have a lot of roads or trails actually available. There are spots on the map where there should have been trails but I didn't see them. Only tried using the free version and only for a quick look. I had better luck learning to use GAIA.

Reactions: Patrick

Uphillshunter

Rank II
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Hughson, CA, USA
First Name
Matt
Last Name
Holway
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6DZP
I paid for a subscription as I had a 20% off coupon, if I knew it had a free 7-day trial first, I wouldn't of paid for a subscription. I've only tried to use it once and wasn't impressed, especially the web version. I like that you can select what your "ride" is so it can show you the appropriate trails, but when I had the map focused on the area I live in, it didn't have any of the trails indicated and the parks or POIs they had the map, had no hoover over to tell you what they are, you had to zoom in as far as it would go to read what they were.

I by no means gave it any where near an exhaustive overview, but I didn't find their help screens helpful and nothing was very intuitive, since I have a subscription I'll give it another shot, but so far not really impressed, IMO you're better bet is spending your money on Gaia

Thanks for the input. I already have Gaia... and I like it's functions, ease of sharing etc.