First Name
Don
Last Name
Montalvo
Ham/GMRS Callsign
KC3UNA
Service Branch
US Army Veteran
I have a 2021 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon, with a hard roof. I'm still pretty new to GMRS, spent all my years using CBs, and I do plan to take a HAM Technician test over the Winter.

I had a Midland XMT115 that was, well, horrible. I moved up to Rugged Radios, and things got a little better, but still very limited. I realized through my mistakes that I needed advice.

My buddies told me to buy a Wouxun KG-935G handheld (it was back ordered a few weeks). It came in last week, and I have to say, all my problems went away.

So I went ahead and ordered a Wouxun KG-1000G mobile radio. I'm waiting for it to come in (back ordered without an ETA), so I can finally use GMRS without all the frustration.

While I wait for the Wouxun KG-1000G mobile radio, I bought a half-wave no ground plane (NGP) antenna, and had it mounted to the passenger side cowl, until a branch tore it off.

Now I have the antenna mounted on the passenger side of my spare tire carrier. Its well protected, and from my testing, seems to get the job done.

I did some testing with a buddy a few miles away, pointing the Jeep in different directions.

I wonder if it would make sense to mount it inside the Jeep near the tailgate hinge?

socal66

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate I

Covina, CA, USA
First Name
Carl
Last Name
Sampson
Member #

When I first got my GRMS mobile unit for my Jeep I wanted to avoid using one of the common cowl mounts for the antenna so I could keep it out of harms way on the trail so I was thinking about internal mount options as well. I didn’t find too many examples of this being done though I did find someone who had mounted one of the stubby antennas to the internal roll bar: