bruceharvey

Rank 0

Contributor I

New York
First Name
Bruce
Last Name
Harvey
Hi, I am completely new to the world of handheld GPS devices. I am looking into the Garmin eTrex line of GPS devices. Let me first explain my goal. I have a private land where my family and I have made several trails, which are not mapped. I would like to use a GPS device to record my tracks in as much detail as possible (the terrain is quite difficult to navigate) as I travel along all of the trails that we have made. I would then like to export and compile them to create a complete map of our trails, including points of interest (waypoints), which I could then import back onto the GPS. Then a newcomer would be able to follow these trails with the GPS and always know where they are relative to all the trails and waypoints. Is this doable with the eTrex devices? Would the eTrex 10 be sufficient? What would be the best way to do this? Thank you!!

Flipper

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Florida
First Name
John
Last Name
F
Member #

You have to use Garmin mapping software, you can’t make your own maps. Just buy a Garmin GPS with the mapping already installed. Walk you land and you can make a track of your trails. Or load Gaia in your phone like MRose suggested. The 10 dosent have mapping capabilities.

Last edited:

Sinocai

Rank IV

Member III

London, Ontario, Canada
First Name
Grant
Last Name
Iaconis
Member #