janders

Rank II

Enthusiast III

Seattle, WA, USA
First Name
Jason
Last Name
Andersen
Let me start by saying I seriously love Gaia. I have a love affair with maps and Gaia unlocks that obsession. However, I'm a software developer and cloud architect by trade so I'm a bit persnickety when it comes to software usability and reliability.

I use their web app for all my research and planning and then run Gaia on an iPad on the trail for navigation. Lately, I've been planning for a big trip and Gaia's web app is just absolutely sh**ting the bed left and right. Here's a list of bugs I've been dealing with THIS MORNING. Just this morning I've had these problems:
  • I get 502 Bad Gateway errors trying to load the main map page.
  • The map controls will load but not the map tiles.
  • They have eventual consistency errors all over the place. I'll rename a folder then reload the page and the old name is there. Or the old name of a waypoint is still showing on the map.
  • I've been uploading GPX files and most of the time, the upload hangs 99% of the way through. And the last part of the import is where they take the hundreds of waypoints you just uploaded and put them all into one folder. And when that fails, I have to go in an manually clean it up.
  • I'll load the details page for a waypoint or route and about 20% of the time, the photos and text notes I put in don't load. I reload the page until they feel like showing up.
  • If I upload a large GPX (>100 items), it has never once returned successfully. Not once in the 8 months I've used this software. It just hangs and I have to go in and reload the page and then manually clean up after it.
  • When I assign a waypoint to a folder, about 30% of the time, the folder modal box hangs and never actually assigns the object to a folder.
  • I get CloudFront errors all the time. Can't connect to the origin. Or, capacity exceeded. Try again later.