Essential gear/mods for a newbie

• HTML tutorial

Danny Outlaw

Rank 0

Traveler I

Im just getting into overlanding and am unsure where to start. I have two main questions....

1. Aside from lift/tires, what are the most important mods to make as soon as possible? ( Breathers, snorkel, secondary battery, etc)

2. What gear do you consider essential to carry? ( Max tracks, hi-lift, shovel, etc. )

Trying to figure what to invest in first.

Thanks in advance! Super excited to learn.

Last edited:

Adventure Bully Rig

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Running Springs, CA, USA
First Name
Mike
Last Name
Benjamin
Member #

I'm new here too! From what I've read...
1.) Rock sliders if you're planning on getting on the rocks, depends on where you plan to run your rig.
2.)Water, comms, emergency food supplies, a shovel, one of those battery jumpers...
Also, there are a bunch of videos on YouTube to get started, they all say the buddy system is important when starting out.

Hank Outdoors

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Robertson County, Tennessee, United States
First Name
Sean Hank
Last Name
Haney
Member #

the buddy system is important when starting out.
I agree with the buddy system! A couple of my thought s are... What is the terrain you are planning to tackle the most? If any of it is "difficult" and rocky I would look at rock sliders and a winch first. Then see what your rig will do and build from there. Also, how far from civilization will you be? First aid and communication are often overlooked. Don't count on having cell service to call for help. Just my 2 cents...

Good luck

TerryD

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Covington, Virginia, USA
First Name
Terry
Last Name
R
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KT4OZ
Welcome!!

I think firstly you need to decide for yourself what you want from Overlanding. You didn't really mention your background in your post or what kinds of things you would like to do, so I'm not sure where to start from.