Launch Member

Enthusiast II

Middletown, NJ, USA
First Name
Sean
Last Name
Crowell
Member #

Hi guys so I'm planning on building a flat bed for my 2004 Dodge ram 1500. I wanna build this flat bed because my truck has some pretty bad rust on the wheel wells and to help give me ground clearence and some space for bigger tires down the road. I have a very basic design for the flatbed already done and am just on here seeking advice from anyone who has built or knows anything about building flatbeds for these trucks.I am planning on using 2x3in and 2x2 in steel tube for the frame and some sort of oak wood for the decking. I am an engineering student and used solidworks CAD to design it (Overkill I Know) Any feedback on the desing from people that have experience with flatbed trucks or any idead of stuff to add would be great. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

Reactions: MazeVX

MMc

Rank V

Influencer II

San Dimas, Ca.
First Name
Mike
Last Name
McMullen
Member #

I like it. Have you thought about putting a fuel cell or water storage between the rails? It wouldn’t be hard to bolt a tank or two before you put flood on.

TexasGMG

Rank III

Enthusiast III

Hell
First Name
Fuck
Last Name
Off
I've always liked flatbeds. Lots of versatility (tons of modular attachments can be built to change it's use ). I also second adding a water tank and larger fuel under the bed and if you could afford it I'd look at aluminum decking for weight.

Keep us updated.

PNW EXPLR

Local Expert Southeast Washington, USA
Investor

Explorer I

Kennewick, WA, USA
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Denniston
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KJ7LYZ