• HTML tutorial

milehighpirate

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Denver, CO USA
Member #

Hey guys,

I'm new to OB and relatively new to Denver. Does anyone have any good recommendations for trails within an hour or so of denver? I'm going to check out Yankee Hill Road up by Idaho Springs sometime soon. I'm not looking for anything too gnarly - I'll be in a stock 4runner.

Thanks in advance,
Michael

Reactions: thejoking__explorer

doubleAron

Rank I
Launch Member

Traveler I

Littleton, Colorado
Member #

Hey Michael,

Welcome to OB and Denver. There are lots of great trails within an hour or so of Denver. Kingston Peak is near Yankee hill and its a great way to add on or make a loop out of yankee hill. Pickle Gulch and Moon gulch are just pass Black Hawk on 119. Pickle gulch has a couple of fun spots but mostly old mining roads.

Check out "Guide to Colorado Backroads and 4x4 Trails" by Charles Wells. It's a great resource and has detailed trail descriptions. Maybe we'll meet up some day.

Aaron

Sent from my iPhone using OB Talk

Boort

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Colorado
Member #

@milehighpirate
I'm not looking for anything too gnarly - I'll be in a stock 4runner.
I'll second the "Guide to Colorado Backroads and 4x4 Trails" by Charles Wells. FYI, You can borrow a copy from a number of libraries in the area.

From there I'd suggest Haggerman's Pass between Leadville and Norrie. Lots of varying terrain, including a water crossing on the west side. Measure it out cause it can be a few feet deep.