Wherever we park it will be home !!
First Name
Donald
Last Name
Diehl
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
WRPN 506
Ok, I’ve been dragging trailers for 50 years. A lot with electric brakes decades ago, then trailers with air brakes.. last winter I installed brakes on my expedition trailer. I was smitten with the Echo controller. Download the app on your dash mounted phone, plug the controller and then plug the trailer into the controller. After over 10,000 miles and multiple trailer brake adjustments I either have full on brakes locking one or both wheels up at 10 &1, on asphalt no less, or nothing at 5 & 1. What am I doing wrong?

Reactions: Sheedy614

OTH Overland

Local Expert Washington, USA
Investor

Trail Blazer III

Camano Island, WA, USA
First Name
Dave
Last Name
Ballard
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
N7XQP
Service Branch
Fire/EMS/SAR
Is there a setting for size or weight of the trailer somewhere? The controller in my RAM lets me select light/med/heavy for trailer then has a separate control for brake level for fine tuning, if I switch to my little utility trailer and leave the setting on heavy from the dump trailer no matter where i set the knob from 1 to 10 it still biases that high base on expected weight and the tires skid all over until setting 1 then they do not work at all..lol

tjZ06

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate I

Las Vegas/Palo Alto
First Name
mynameisntallowed
Last Name
Adams
Member #

Ok, I’ve been dragging trailers for 50 years. A lot with electric brakes decades ago, then trailers with air brakes.. last winter I installed brakes on my expedition trailer. I was smitten with the Echo controller. Download the app on your dash mounted phone, plug the controller and then plug the trailer into the controller. After over 10,000 miles and multiple trailer brake adjustments I either have full on brakes locking one or both wheels up at 10 &1, on asphalt no less, or nothing at 5 & 1. What am I doing wrong?