Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Akron, Ohio
First Name
Mitch
Last Name
DiMauro
Member #

Hey guys! Iv been a long time lurker here but I haven’t posted much. I’m happy to be here and be part of this awesome community!

I just picked up this small trailer on Craigslist yesterday. It’s one of the cheapy 3x5 Lowe’s utility trailer. I have a short bed Tacoma that fills up fast when we go camping. My plan is to put larger tires and use it for camping equipment. Maybe to haul 400-500lbs of gear. Light off-road here and there but it will primarily be used on road.

I have never done anything like this before so I was wondering if I could use wheel adapters to get the same bolt pattern as in my Tacoma And run the same tires.

Is it safe to use wheel adapters for a trailer like this? Again, trailer will be used primarily on the road.

Attachments

TXJeep

Rank 0

Contributor I

Dallas
First Name
James
Last Name
C
Looks like a pretty clean trailer, must have been garaged.

New here myself and I am currently looking for a 4x6 or 4x8 trailer to build. You think you have storage problems, try cramming stuff in a jeep, especially with three car seats in the back row.

From what I have read wheel spacers should not be an issue as long as you get them torqued on correctly. I will be doing the same thing so that, worse case scenario, I have a couple extra spares for the jeep.

Post pics as you build it up

Reactions: Mitch65 and M Rose

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired
I would like to have something like this as the end result.
I was just talking about doing something like this with @hutchman over lunch on Monday. Post a build thread in the trailer forum when you start on this project, others are definitely interested.

Mitch65

Rank IV
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Akron, Ohio
First Name
Mitch
Last Name
DiMauro
Member #