Rex
Last Name
Drake
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KI5GH
Service Branch
Air Force
I’m curious how long AGM batteries last as vehicle batteries. In my case, my vehicle has a matched pair that were in it when I bought it. The date codes are late 2016. For a standard car battery, they would be on borrowed time already.

51270A7F-D515-41B9-9CCE-96810C87ADE5.jpeg9040475B-EA96-4073-A19A-D012FBCA102A.jpeg

old_man

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Loveland, Colorado
First Name
Tom
Last Name
Houston
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
WØNUT Extra
Personally, I am an engineer with specific experience in commercial/military battery systems. I have run AGMs since they came out. I have found that a well maintained lead acid battery lasts as long if not longer than an AGM. I have been through 5 AGMs in personal vehicles. I find they do not tolerate abuse nearly as well as a standard wet cell lead acid. Run them dead a couple of times and things go downhill fast, and I tend to run the deep cycle AGMs. Leaving them dead in the winter is the kiss of death. Having said that, I have friends who swear by them and have had no issues. I have had nothing but issues, and I keep my charging systems in top notch condition and I use AGM specific chargers.

Reactions: diabetiktaco

diabetiktaco

Local Expert New Jersey, USA
Launch Member

Explorer I

Marlboro Township, NJ, USA
First Name
Eric
Last Name
Beauchea
Member #