97 XJ Build

• HTML tutorial

SByota

Rank III

Advocate II

My name is Brad and I'm new to OB and the XJ world. I've have several off road trucks in the past, Toyota pre-runner with 3 link, full cage, custom a arms, full cage etc. 74 Blazer, and a few other Toyota trucks. I have a passion for building things.

Those toys have been gone for years now. I now have a young son and needed something that can fit 4 people and go on adventures.

I picked up this 97 XJ with 124k miles for a bargain. Salvage title due to the dented door/fender/rocker. It has the typical 4.0/AW4/231 combo with the 8.25 rear end.

The build plan is a do it all adventure rig with some Jeepspeed go fast thrown in.

Front suspension:

I'm building a 4 link with panhard bar with Ruffstuff parts. Keeping the D30 but adding WJ brakes/steering etc. 5.5 Deaver springs, King 2.5" shocks and prothane coil inserts.

Rear suspension

Deaver G9 springs with King 2.5through the floor and 2.0 air bumps.

Other details.
Full Ruffstuff frame reinforcement, Full T&J interior cage, home built bumpers and sliders. 35" tires. 4:88 gears F/R

Pictures make any thread better right?

SByota

Rank III

Advocate II

Making more progress on the front end. WJ knuckles all finished, lower links, tie rod, and drag link and cut to length and tacked up. I used PVC pipe to determine the angle of the upper links. Then I cut my tubing on the bandsaw, and used my homemade fixture table to hold it in place.

Next garage session I will tack together the upper arms and make the panhard bar and cycle it. Then I'm sure I will have to change something. There is so much going on with this "5 link" suspension.

As always, everyones input/criticism is welcomed.

SByota

Rank III

Advocate II