Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Pascagoula, MS
First Name
Steven
Last Name
Conner
Member #

So, I've found what I think is a good deal on a Land Rover D2, but I know nothing about them. What are some issues and quirks with them that I need to know about? Thanks in advance.

2005 Jeep Wrangler
2005 GMC Sierra
2014 Jeep Wrangler

OB#4392

TGF

Rank IV
Launch Member

Advocate II

Lunenburg, MA
Member #

I am not an expert, but I was told you should only consider a 2004 unless you want to consider an engine rebuild - something about cylinder liners that work their way out of place leading to critical failure. Other things I'd look at are rust and head gaskets, which are apparently notorious for leaking. I love my D2, but it does spend some time at the shop and its a low mileage 2004.

Reactions: southernfire97

southernfire97

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Pascagoula, MS
First Name
Steven
Last Name
Conner
Member #

I am not an expert, but I was told you should only consider a 2004 unless you want to consider an engine rebuild - something about cylinder liners that work their way out of place leading to critical failure. Other things I'd look at are rust and head gaskets, which are apparently notorious for leaking. I love my D2, but it does spend some time at the shop and its a low mileage 2004.
Thanks for the reply and info. If it doesn't involve a G.M. Product or a Jeep, I'm not up on what quirks to look for.

2005 Jeep Wrangler
2005 GMC Sierra
2014 Jeep Wrangler

OB#4392

southernfire97

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Pascagoula, MS
First Name
Steven
Last Name
Conner
Member #

So, any inherent issues with the 04 models? Anything I want to make sure one has on it, option wise?

2005 Jeep Wrangler
2005 GMC Sierra
2014 Jeep Wrangler

OB#4392

jhill15

Rank 0

Contributor II