Launch Member

Contributor III

Loveland, Colorado, USA
First Name
Seth
Last Name
Schueller
Member #

So having Type 1 DM and being away from civilization ISNT as scary as you'd think! Here is my list of prep items and common signs I watch for with my body while in the wilderness to keep myself safe(ish) when an ambulance cannot reach my location.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, nor a nurse. While I do work in the medical field, it is outside my scope of practice to recommend medical treatment or diagnose your medical issues. Please seek medical attention or call 911 if you experience diabetic complications such as hypo or hyperglycemia. This is simply my experience with 15 years of Diabetes combined with my passion for adventure and the outdoors- this is how I make it work.

Diabetic Supplies

1. Short Acting Insulin & Back Up Pen (or spare pump supplies and insulin. Bring syringes just in case, you can time small injections from your fill bottle if your pump breaks)
2. Long Acting Insulin & Back Up Pen
3. Needle Pen Tips
4. Glucometer with extra lancer, lancets, strips, and battery.
5. Back up glucometer that uses same equipment
6. Glucagon Emergency Kit

Food (aside from your standard packed food for meals)
1. Granola bars- good source of medium acting carbs, avg 17-20gm (when my sugar reaches 65-70 mg/dl)
2. Gatorade- full sugar, good source of fast acting carbs, avg 25gm (when my sugar reaches 55-65 mg/dl, used in combination with granola bar if still exerting myself)
3. Mountain Dew Classic- hail mary, great source of fast acting carbs, avg 75gm <---- last resort before glucagon, has saved me on a few occasions (when my sugar reaches 35+mg/dl)

My EWS (early warning signs)
1. Tingling nose/lips (blood sugar averages 60-70 mg/dl for the past 4 years when this occurs)
2. Sweatyness with light hangover feeling combined with heart palpitations and mixed, non-sustaining PVCs (blood sugar averages 40-50mg/dl for the past 10 years when this occurs)