Receiver hitch shackle mount or just the pin for use with soft shackles?

• HTML tutorial

Overland Rich

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Placerville, CA
Member #

Hello All,

I am switching to soft shackles and trying to get all the metal out of my recover system. Between myself and my brother who I generally go with we have a bubba rope kinetic recovery rope, 4 gator jaw soft shackles, a tree saver strap, and 2 maxtrax each. I am new to soft shackles and want to know if anyone has experience using them just jammed into the receiver hitch with the pin through them versus using a receiver hitch shackle mount. The factor 55 hitchlink is deburred and smooth for use with soft shackles but if using it directly in the hitch with just the pin through it doesn't cause any sharp edges or fraying that would get one more large chunk of metal out of the recovery system. Let me know your thoughts and experiences!

Lindenwood

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

New Mexico
First Name
Jay
Last Name
M
Member #

I have done this before, but technically the pin is only designed against pure shear loads placed just inside the inner walls of the hitch, as opposed to the bending forces of a soft loop placed in the center of the pin between a 2" gap.

I'd probably do it again, to be honest, but just be aware that even though a 5/8" pin could be rated for huge towing numbers, it is experiencing markedly different stresses from just a loop or strap around it.

Realistically, however, even if it does completely fail, it shouldnt actually come flying out of the receiver--it would likely just bend in the middle until it failed and allowed the loop to slip out. However unlikely a complete failure may be, it is probably not unlikely to have it bend just enough to get stuck in the hitch!

Graeman

Rank V
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

Catalina Avenue, Tucson, AZ, USA
First Name
Todd
Last Name
Hoffmaster
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KJ7CRJ
Service Branch
Air Force