First Name
Kirk
Last Name
Sinclair
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
VA3KXS
Quick intro:

I am a fairly new amateur radio operator, licensed in June of 2018. I played around mostly on HF for the few few months until I acquired a handheld Yaesu VX-7R before Christmas. Around the same time I stumbled across the Overland Bound Weekly Net and realized nets would be a great way to get some use out of the radio and build some communications skills. I started looking around for repeaters and clubs in my area that host regular nets and found a few, one at the same time as my drive to work. The HT didn't work so well in the truck with the stock antenna, so I picked up a Diamond mag-mount 2m/70cm antenna (Diamond Antenna MR77 Dualband Mobile Antenna | Radioworld) which improved things significantly.

Distracted driving laws in Ontario do have an exemption for licensed amateur radio operators, but the device has to be securely attached to the vehicle. I connected a belt clip for the VX-7R to some RAM mounts in the console and used a speaker microphone to comply. I was getting ok signal reports, but the HT picked up quite a bit of QRM and I wasn't always able to reliably get into the repeater hosting the morning net with just 5W. Time to upgrade!

The radio:

The VX-7R has true dual-VFO which I found fairly handy for monitoring one frequency while scanning others, so I wanted the same for a new radio. I was also interested in APRS and having a unit with a remote head. Radioworld in Ontario had the Yaesu FTM-400XDR on sale since before Christmas, and essentially sold-out and on back order the whole time. I checked back regularly and one Friday afternoon saw they had some stock. A quick call put a hold on the only unit they had in inventory and I drove over to Toronto to pick it up on the Saturday. I purchased a remote speaker at the same time (Yaesu MLS-200-M10).

The install: