Staff member
Mod Team

Traveler III

Florida, USA
First Name
randy
Last Name
g
I am just getting in to the Comms portions of things and will be getting my HAM licences in the near future as of right now I am thinking getting a GMRS and CB radio in the truck would probably be a good idea as well as a few handheld GMRS radios what does everyone use? and how do you mount them? I have a 2014 Ram 2500 so I have a decent amount of room for mounting.

Thanks
Doc

Reactions: Desert Runner

KarmaSeoul

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler III

Baton Rouge, LA, USA
First Name
Matthew
Last Name
D
Member #

Hey, I am just getting into the radio world too. I just picked up a Midland MXT 275 for GMRS, comes with everything for a basic start. I'm mounting the head unit under the seat with mic somewhere in reach on the dash. The only two things I would do is upgrade the antenna and hardwire the power source. It gives me a clean minimal setup and able to keep everything out of sight when needed. Good luck with your search.

Reactions: Desert Runner

RoarinRow

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Elk Grove, CA, USA
First Name
Rolando
Last Name
Nispiros
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6JJS
I am using a Midland MTX 105 GMRS and Uniden 980SSB CB. No Ham. No time and energy to get license. GMRS is mounted on dash and CB lower center console.

Desert Runner

Rank VII
Launch Member

Expedition Master III

Southern Nevada
First Name
Jerold
Last Name
F.
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
/GMRS=WREA307
Hey, I am just getting into the radio world too. I just picked up a Midland MXT 275 for GMRS, comes with everything for a basic start. I'm mounting the head unit under the seat with mic somewhere in reach on the dash. The only two things I would do is upgrade the antenna and hardwire the power source. It gives me a clean minimal setup and able to keep everything out of sight when needed. Good luck with your search.
THIS......below, and what you posted.