• HTML tutorial

DrRobert

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Bristow, VA
Member #

Hello all,

I'm new to overlanding and am based out of Northern Virginia so I spend a lot of time in the Blue Ridge Mountains, the George Washington and Thomas Jefferson National Forests, West Virginia, etc. Before I got interested in overlanding, I usually just spent my time on the traditional paved access roads and campsites. To support my interest in getting off the beaten path, I've spent a lot of time working out my navigation tools and a workflow to help me identify places to go, plan routes and then guide (and track) my progress. My question is related to the "plan routes" part of the process. While I can often find places I want to go, planning the route there can be a challenge in part because access to those areas is often through private land. So, here are some questions:

• When off-roading, how do I deal with a road that span public and private lands?
  • What do I do when I get to a closed gate on a state road that goes through private land? Public land?
  • What if a road transits the private land to get to public land?
I should say that I have a Samsung Note 10.1 as my nav tablet (it's GPS and cell enabled) and I use Gaia as my primary tool for planning (using Map Box Streets HD, USFS 2016 and Nat Geo Trails as my base maps depending on what I'm looking for). I also have a Garmin Inreach Explorer + with GPS and Iridium texting capability for just in case scenarios. I make sure I've downloaded my routes to my Note 10.1, cell phone and Inreach Explorer+ before I go for some redundancy. To plan my routes, I use Gaia's overlapping map capability to identify various features including the Public Land map, the US Private Land map, Satellite map and the USFS MVUM map. No one map gives you everything and combinations of maps really helps a lot.