New to overlanding, build direction

• HTML tutorial

Tundred7904

Rank II
Launch Member

Traveler I

Lexington park MD
Member #

I am just getting into this and am itching to get out there, I have a good amount of camping gear from backpacking, I have good tires. Now I am trying to figure out if I should start moding my truck or something else. I also am wondering about camper shells vs bed racks, I want to end up with a roof mounted tent and the rack seems like it would be stronger vs the shell roof racks. Thoughts? Thx for all the help ahead of time

Attachments

DanR

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer II

Silverdale, WA, USA
First Name
Daniel
Last Name
Reed
Member #

Step one is to make sure your truck is safe and in full repair. Also acquire some basic recovery gear, hand tools, first aid, and a tire repair kit. I also recommend a large 5+ gallon jug for water. Next I would focus on what would serve you best; whether it be a more capable truck via suspension/armor, or storage. A camper shell will provide weather-proof storage, while the rack can have better gear mounting options. Unfortunately I cannot help with the load-bearing differences of the bed cover options.

Reactions: J Tosh Reed

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate II

No
Member #