Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Altoona, PA, USA
First Name
Cody
Last Name
Gorsuch
Member #

Hey all!! I am new to the overland community and most of the places that go along with it. I’ve been hiking and off-roading for a long time. Interested in good trails/places to wheel around PA? Other than private property I don’t know many areas that allow vehicles. I’ve heard good things about Bald Eagle. Anyone give me some insight on what trails, times of year it’s open to drive, and experiences there? IMG_8410.JPG

Wawa Skittletits

Local Expert East Region USA
Staff member
Launch Member

Expedition Master I

Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
First Name
Drew
Last Name
Hawley
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
WRBZ674
Service Branch
USN veteran
Welcome from northeast Pennsyltucky @Cody_Gorsuch!

Bald Eagle State Forest is an amazing place. It’s open year round with additional roads/gates being opened in the fall for hunters and leaf chasers. That’s a yearly thing across the state with the gates getting locked back up in January. BESF has hundreds of miles of roads that vary from perfectly manicured gravel to bonafide trails. Overlooks, hiking, general solitude, etc... can be found there. It’s one of my favorite places to go. Are you using Gaia or any other off the grid map app yet?

Cody_Gorsuch

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Altoona, PA, USA
First Name
Cody
Last Name
Gorsuch
Member #

Thanks Wawa! I’ve heard great things and will be making a trip soon just to explore a little before I do any overnight stays. It’s only about 45-50 minutes drive from me. I have the Gaia app and plan on getting the membership for it so it’s actually useful. I also have the purple lizard map for Bald Eagle. Currently running a pretty stock 17’ TRD off-road with some KO2’s so cant get to crazy yet lol.

Reactions: Wawa Skittletits

theogzilla

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate I

Harrisburg, PA, USA
First Name
Mike
Last Name
E
Member #